If you tutor or teach SAT prep, the question is not which app has the best questions. It is which one lets you assign work, see whether it got done, and see what the student missed without a spreadsheet. Khan Academy, OnePrep, UWorld and ClassVal each answer that differently, and the differences are mostly about who the tool is built for.
Pick the tool whose assignment model matches your roster: a whole class, a handful of private students, or one student you want to hand a link to.
This guide is written by ClassVal, so we are one of the four tools in it. We compare only what each company states publicly, and where a page did not say something, we say so instead of guessing.
How We Compared These
ClassVal publishes this post. We checked Khan Academy's help center, OnePrep's schools page and UWorld's SAT educator page in October 2026, and ClassVal's own tutor page and plan data. Pricing and features change, so confirm everything on each company's site before you commit.
- We only list a competitor fact if a company page or help article stated it.
- "Not stated" means we could not find it on the page we read. It does not mean the feature is missing.
- We did not test the competitors' teacher dashboards ourselves, so we describe what they say, not how they feel to use.
- We did not research Princeton Review, Kaplan, Magoosh or other tools for this post, which is about assignment and tracking tools.
What You Actually Need From an Assignment Tool
Before comparing, decide which of these you need. Most tutors need the first three. A classroom teacher usually also needs the fourth.
- Assign something specific. A skill, a test, or a goal, with a due date.
- Know if it was done. Completion that comes from the student's activity, not a promise.
- See the misses. Accuracy by topic, so the next assignment is targeted.
- Handle a group. A class roster, shared analytics, or reports you can download.
- Stay affordable. Per-seat pricing, a free tier, or a flat plan for a small roster.
Khan Academy: Mastery Goals in Official Digital SAT Courses
Khan Academy's help center describes two Digital SAT courses, Math and Reading and Writing. It says the courses are mastery-enabled, so a teacher can set Unit or Course Mastery goals that appear on the Teacher Dashboard, and can assign the Course Challenge first to see where students stand before assigning specific content.
The help center lists reports for this: a Mastery Goals progress report, an Assignments scores report, and an Activity Overview report. It also says the older Official SAT Prep product has been retired. Khanmigo, Khan Academy's AI helper, is covered separately in our AI help comparison, and its teacher tools are not the course-assignment pricing we could not find here.
Khan Academy's schools page calls it the College Board's only official SAT partner. Whether that matters depends on how closely you want practice to mirror the real test. The same page states that districts can get automated rostering and onboarding support. We did not find a price on the pages we read, so check Khan Academy's site for current cost and class setup steps.
Best fit: a teacher who wants goal-based assignments inside a well-known official partner's courses, and who is comfortable assigning at the unit or course level.
OnePrep: A Free Classroom, Then Per-Seat Pro
OnePrep's schools page describes class tools that let you "assign and track assignments for your class," with class analytics covering weekly activity, accuracy by topic for each student, and questions attempted. Students join by invite link or class code.
The pricing is stated plainly on that page. OnePrep's free classroom plan, separate from the free student tier in our OnePrep comparison, is $0 a month, needs no card, and includes 1 classroom, up to 3 members (teachers and students counted together), and 1 active homework assignment. Classroom Pro is listed at $24.9 per seat per month on yearly billing, which the page states as $299 per seat every 12 months, with a 3-seat minimum. It adds unlimited classrooms and homework, advanced class analytics, downloadable class reports, and full OnePrep Pro for every student and teacher.
The page does not mention tutor-specific features or pricing, and it does not describe a parent report. It also does not say whether a teacher counts as one of the paid seats, so ask before you budget.
Best fit: a teacher who wants to try a real classroom for free, then pay per seat once the roster grows. The free plan's 1 active homework assignment is a real limit, so test with it first.
UWorld: Educator Tools Through a Call or Trial
UWorld's SAT educator page lists ready-to-go assignments that support instruction in core classes, classroom polling that pushes College Board-aligned questions to a class, and data dashboards that track usage and performance at the student, class, school and district levels.
The page invites educators to schedule a call or request a trial. We did not find prices, tutors or individual-student plans on it, so we cannot tell you what it costs or whether a solo tutor can buy it. For UWorld's student plans, see our UWorld comparison. If you are a classroom teacher or school administrator who wants polling and school-level reporting, that is the place to ask.
Best fit: schools and teachers who want pre-built class assignments, live polling and reporting across a class or a whole school, and who want to talk through setup with the vendor first.
ClassVal for Tutors: Skill Assignments Inside the Student Study Plan
ClassVal for Tutors is built for an independent tutor with a focused roster, not a school district. You invite a student by email. A student who already has a ClassVal account accepts from the login they already use. You then pick a skill and a due date, and the assignment is added to the student's existing study plan, which ClassVal calls the Map,
Two design choices are the point of this tool. Completion is evidence-only: an assignment finishes only when a real practice session finishes, and no button marks it done by hand. And Student 360 shows you the same mastery, pacing and score-trend view the student sees. Assignments pull from ClassVal's bank of more than 4,500 Digital SAT questions. Overdue work stays assignable and reschedules like any missed study day.
Creating a tutor account is free, but using the workspace takes a plan. Tutor Plus is $19.99 a month ($199 a year) and includes up to 7 students. Tutor Pro is $49.99 a month ($499 a year) and includes up to 25. Extra students are $3 a month on Plus and $2 a month on Pro. Every student on the plan gets full ClassVal Premium.
The limits are worth knowing. ClassVal is Digital SAT only. The tutor plans are priced by roster size and have no free tier, unlike OnePrep's classroom. And the tool is built for individual tutors, so it is not a substitute for school-wide rostering or class polling.
Best fit: a private tutor with up to 25 students who wants targeted, due-dated homework that confirms itself, and who values students keeping one login.
Side-by-Side Comparison
| Khan Academy | OnePrep | UWorld | ClassVal | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| How you assign | Unit or Course Mastery goals; Course Challenge | Homework assignments for a class | Ready-to-go assignments; polling | Skill and due date, added to the student’s study plan |
| Built for | Teachers and districts | Teachers and classes | Schools and educators | Independent tutors with a focused roster |
| Price as stated | Not found on pages we read | Free plan; Pro $24.9/seat/mo billed yearly | Not stated; request a trial | $19.99/mo (7 students) or $49.99/mo (25); about $2.86 or $2.00 per student when full |
| Free tier for educators | Not confirmed | 1 classroom, up to 3 members, 1 active assignment | Trial on request | No; free account creation only |
| How completion is recorded | Not stated on the pages we read | Not stated on the pages we read | Not stated on the pages we read | Only when a real practice session finishes |
| Progress reports | Mastery, assignment and activity reports | Class analytics; downloadable reports on Pro | Dashboards by student, class, school, district | Student 360 view |
| Plan written for solo tutors | Not stated on pages we read | Not stated on pages we read | Not stated on pages we read | Yes |
Which One Should You Choose?
| If you are... | Start with | Why |
|---|---|---|
| A classroom teacher with a full class | OnePrep Classroom Pro (per seat), Khan Academy, or UWorld | All three describe class-level tools; UWorld adds polling and school-level dashboards |
| Testing on a zero budget | OnePrep free plan | Stated at $0 with no card, with a 1-assignment limit |
| A school or district buyer | UWorld or Khan Academy | Both describe school or district-level tools |
| A private tutor with up to 25 students | ClassVal for Tutors | Due-dated skill assignments with evidence-only completion |
| A tutor who wants to look around first | A free ClassVal account, or OnePrep’s free classroom plan | A ClassVal tutor workspace needs a paid plan; OnePrep’s free plan is a 3-member classroom, and its page does not mention tutors, so ask whether a solo tutor can use it |
Your Next Step
- Write down your roster size and whether students are in one class or several private sessions.
- Open the official page for your top two tools and confirm pricing, limits and the assignment steps.
- Run one real assignment for one student, due in three days.
- Check the evidence. Did the tool show you what was finished and what was missed, without asking the student?
- Keep the one that makes the second assignment easier than the first.
FAQ: SAT Prep Tools for Tutors and Teachers
Is there a free tool for assigning SAT practice?
OnePrep's schools page lists a free plan at $0 a month with 1 classroom, up to 3 members and 1 active homework assignment. Khan Academy's help center describes teacher assignment tools, but we did not confirm its pricing on the pages we read. Check each site for current terms.
Can a private tutor use these tools, or only schools?
ClassVal for Tutors is built for independent tutors. OnePrep's schools page does not mention tutor-specific features, and UWorld's educator page does not mention tutors, so we cannot say whether either sells to a solo tutor. Ask them directly.
What does evidence-only completion mean?
On ClassVal, an assignment is marked complete only when the student finishes a real practice session. The tutor has no button to mark it done by hand, so a completed assignment means a practice session was finished. It does not by itself show the skill was learned.
Do students need a new account for ClassVal for Tutors?
A student who already has a ClassVal account accepts your email invite from the login they already use. A new student creates one during setup. Each email address is either a student account or a tutor account, not both.
Which tool is best for a whole classroom?
ClassVal for Tutors is not designed for school-wide classes. For a full class, compare the class tools OnePrep, Khan Academy and UWorld describe on their own pages, and weigh price, polling and reporting against your school's needs.
Your next step
Official educator sources to check before you choose
Related ClassVal pages
- ClassVal for TutorsPlans, assignments and Student 360 in detail.
- SAT Prep Pricing ComparedStudent pricing across free, monthly and pay-once options.
- Free Full-Length SAT Practice Tests ComparedWhere to find free full-length tests.
- UWorld SAT vs. ClassValThe student-side comparison with UWorld.
- OnePrep vs. ClassValThe student-side comparison with OnePrep.
Your dream score is closer than you think.
Sign up and let adaptive practice and the AI Coach handle the rest. You'll know if it's working in a week.